Patience is a virtue

If you’ve ever wanted to truly test your patience, get both of your kiddos sick at the same time.

I’m kidding, obviously, because having two sick children sucks. And having two sicks kids WHILE YOU are still sick and your husband is sick (and refuses to see a doctor) sucks even more. This has been our life for the better part of the last two weeks and I’m ecstatic that I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. Lily and Sarah still have a cough, but they are acting like their normal selves. Ray is improving slowly. After last years’ bout with the flu, or whatever he had, I’m always nervous when he’s sick now.

Tomorrow I have a doctor’s appointment. It’s the first “regular” check-up that’s not pregnancy related that I’ve had in like..10 years. I’m a little nervous, and excited. This is at the very top of my list of resolutions for this year and I can’t wait to complete it! Before the sickness took over our house, Ray and I were laying down a solid plan to continue getting ourselves healthier. I’m hoping to continue with that when he’s feeling better. One of the the most important things I’m doing to better my health is to learn how to love my body…how it is, right now. Healthy or not. This is a big deal for me, because I’ve never been overly fond of the way I look. Admitting this here, where people can read it is a big step in itself.

Hi. I’m Tasha. I’m a mother of two beautiful little girls, wife to a wonderful husband. I’m a potato enthusiast, lover of all things Lord of the Rings, and I’m fat. And that’s ok.

I know what you’re probably thinking. Don’t be so harsh, you’re not fat! You’re just curvy or plus-size . While both of the previous statements are true (to some extent), I need to be honest with myself and with others. My husband likes to call me soft and round and luscious; all terms I’ve made peace with because I’m trying to see myself through his eyes. I no longer want to be skinny. Skinny is not something I’ve ever been or will be. What can I say? I love food too much. I can honestly say that I’m seeing some improvement in my goals here. I’m reading a few books that are helping me tremendously.

Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls by Jes Baker

Big Girl: How I Gave Up Dieting and Got a Life by Kelsey Miller

Fat Girl Walking by Brittany Gibbons

All three of these books are awesome so far, and totally inspiring. And did I mention, completely relatable?

The body love movement has gotten a lot of press and attention in the last few years and I wish I would’ve gotten on the bandwagon a lot sooner, but hey! I’m here now. This is something that I’m still learning about and growing into a passion of mine (along with fashion, which has always been an interest) so stay tuned for more posts dedicated to it!

One thought on “Patience is a virtue

Leave a Reply

