Drugstore Lip Balm Review | The good, the bad, and the ugly

I’ve been on a hunt this summer for a really great, affordable lip balm. Sounds like an easy thing to find, right? Wrong. I mean, think about it. Almost every brand of makeup, EVER, has some sort of balm/chapstick. Some companies are completely dedicated to it! This summer I’ve tried three different brands, and I’m here to tell you what worked for me, and what didn’t.

The Good

Maybelline Baby Lips Dr. Rescue Medicated Balm in Just Peachy

babylips1

I *love* this line of balms. This is actually the second one I’ve purchased and I’m definitely not disappointed.This medicated balm moisturizes my lips like a dream! It has a cooling sensation when you apply it (due to the hint of eucalyptus and menthol) with a VERY sheer color payoff. The packaging is cute and simple, making this a great item to have in your purse!

Price: $3.99

 

The Bad

Wet n Wild Natural Blend Lip Shimmer in Frost 100

wnwbalm1

I had such high hopes for this! I have been slightly obsessed with all things Wet n Wild this summer, so I was really excited to try this out. While the color payoff and shimmer is great, the smell of this lip product is HORRIBLE! So much so that I ended up throwing it out because every time I tried to use it, it grossed me out. If you are sensitive to smells, this product is definitely NOT for you!

Price: $2.29

 

The Ugly

eos Smooth Lip Balm Sphere in Strawberry Sorbet

eoslipbalm1

So, I’m just gonna go ahead and have the unpopular opinion here and say that I fricken HATE this thing. I don’t know what possessed me to buy this, because I already had one bad experience with this brand…but I guess I’m a sucker for second chances, so here we are. Now, eos, as a brand, is pretty awesome. They don’t test on animals and most of their products are natural and/or organic. I want to love this, but I just can’t. It was the heavenly strawberry scent that suckered me into buying this, but when I got it home and tried it out I just couldn’t do it. It applies smoothly, but within ten minutes of putting it on, my lips were sticky. STICKY. About an hour in, my lips were bone dry. It was almost like I hadn’t applied it to my lips at all!  I’ve tried it twice more after, and had the same results all three times. I definitely would not recommend this to anyone.

Price: $3.29

 

If you enjoyed this post, make sure to hit like and subscribe! Watch out for new posts every wednesday and saturday!

Until next time!

xoxo

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Drugstore Lip Balm Review | The good, the bad, and the ugly

Leave a Reply

